history principles practice stories, books, media discussion forum organizations resources
zenguide.com logo

Wednesday Jul 23 2014 10:32PM ET
º login º register º email º guestbook º printer friendly
grey dot
  Ryokan, a Zen master, lived the simplest kind of life in a little hut at the foot of a mountain. One evening a thief visited the hut only to discover there was nothing to steal. Ryokan returned and caught him. "You have come a long way... continue...

z
e
n
menu left history menu spacer principles menu spacer practice menu spacer zen media menu spacer discussion forum menu spacer organization directory menu spacer resources  
login
  DISCUSSION FORUM
» topic list   » start a new topic   » my tracked topics   » view topic
grey dot

horizontal line
→→→→ vertical line TOPIC: MUSIC, ART, AND SADNESS
vertical line Posted on Jun.01.2007 @ 12:14AM EDT by oliveplume

Greetings!

I am relatively new to the world of zen and I am just starting to get a grasp of the concept, attachment = suffering.

While I can understand why a person would want to avoid sincere grief, such as the loss of something or someone. How does this idea relate to art?

Is it healthy to experience these emotions through art? Should we not encourage art that makes one sad when experiencing it?

:  )

Go to Latest Reply   Reply to this Topic   Email oliveplume
horizontal line

horizontal line
Reply from Woodsman
Jun.01.2007
12:42AM EDT 
Email Woodsman
vertical line Hi. The creation of "art" itself has attachment written all over it, if the work is to be seen by others, who will either like it, or not. Praise as the first motivator eventually fails.  One has to be self-motivated, to create, for long.

If the art is made to "say" something about social conditions, trying to wake people up, the intent is "pure", and can serve a "higher" purpose, other than just to garnish praise, or money.