history principles practice stories, books, media discussion forum organizations resources
zenguide.com logo

Wednesday Sep 17 2014 09:33AM ET
º login º register º email º guestbook º printer friendly
grey dot
  A monk asked the priest Kan-feng:
-Bhagavats in the ten directions got one straight road to Nirvana. I dare to ask where that road is?
Kan-feng lifted up his staff, drew a line in the air, and said:
-Here it is.
more...

z
e
n
menu left history menu spacer principles menu spacer practice menu spacer zen media menu spacer discussion forum menu spacer organization directory menu spacer resources  
login
  DISCUSSION FORUM
» topic list   » start a new topic   » my tracked topics   » view topic
grey dot

horizontal line
→→→→ vertical line TOPIC: MOTORCYCLE ZAZEN
vertical line Posted on Mar.22.2008 @ 10:46AM EDT by asheera

I started riding my motorcycle to work tonight.  A 1979 Honda 750LTD.

There is something soothing about riding a motorcycle.  Almost like meditation.

I've been thinking of it for a while.  Waiting for morning temperatures to be above freezing for the ride home.

Even with thick leather gloves my fingers were cold when I got to work after riding 17 miles.  But my snowmobile suit and helmet kept me warm otherwise.

Gas prices are ridiculous.  $3.60 a gallon for the cheap stuff here around Seattle.  The bike gets 40 mpg, and the car gets 25 mpg.

So this way I can have fun, and save money.  But the dog will not be so happy because i usually bring her to work with me in the summer.  She sleeps in the car, and I take her for a walk in the middle of my shift.

Go to Latest Reply   Reply to this Topic   Email asheera
horizontal line

horizontal line
Reply from A_Pict
Mar.22.2008
01:58PM EDT